English English Français Français Nederlands Nederlands Deutsch Deutsch Español Español 日本人 日本人
« One day we will realise that Raphael and Vermeer had already discovered everything about painting. »Salvador Dali 1945
Copy Vermeer de Delft
Website dedicated to the copying of Vermeer’s paintings  
Size of the paintings :
The copies are the same size as the originals so as to keep the spirit and intimate feeling wished for by the Artist. The height and width were likely predefined by the camera obscura where Vermeer would be inspired by light effects seen through the projected picture on the polished glass. The paintings proportions are mainly identical to each other (cf Alain Decaux, Vermeer). The canvas is set on stretchers made to measure by a professionnal cabinetmaker

Pigments and colour preparation :
Colours are prepared by myself. I crush them twice with a pestle and mortar, making several movements in the shape of an 8. The colours are then put in little tubes. I sometimes just crush the colours I need for the day. Binding mediums used: cooked linen oil litharge cooked walnut oil, turpentine, raw linen oil, “essence of aspic”, ...if you want to know more about ultramarine pigment: please refer to “Outremer: broyage et formation”by Thierry Moutard-Martin

Pigments :
Vermeer used different pigments at different periods in his career. I try to find similar tones from pigments that are available today such as white lead, indian yellow, vermilion, madder lacquer, verdigris, yellow ochre, red ochre, lemon yellow, indigo, cinnabar red, ultramarine(synthetic), true lapis lazuli( true ultramarine) from Chile or Afghanistan.

Preparation of the canvas :
Please refer to « La technique de la peinture à l’huile » by Xavier de Langlais for animal glue preparation, published by Flammarion Editions.
Contacts :Phone : +33 (0)6 35 45 48 24
Mail : mickael.leroy@copy-vermeer.com
Contact page
Golden book

Français Français English English Nederlands Nederlands Deutsch Deutsch Español Español 日本人 日本人
« On comprendra un jour que Raphaël et Vermeer avaient déjà tout découvert en peinture. »Salvador Dali 1945
Copie Vermeer de Delft
Site spécialisé sur la copie des tableaux de Vermeer 
Format des tableaux :
La dimension des copies est identique à celle des musées afin de garder l’esprit et l’atmosphère intimiste voulue par le peintre. La hauteur et largeur étaient vraisemblablement prédéfinies par la caméra osbcura. Les proportions sont relativement identiques d’un tableau à l’autre (cf Alain Decaux, L’astronome). Vermeer s’inspirait de l’image projetée par la caméra sur la vitre dépolie pour y peindre « ses gouttes de lumières ».
Mes toiles sont tendues sur un châssis sur mesure à clefs de bois réalisé par un ébéniste professionnel.

Les pigments et préparations des couleurs :
Mes couleurs sont « broyées » 2 fois sur une pierre avec un pilon en faisant plusieurs passages en forme de 8. Les couleurs sont mises en tube en petite quantité. Il m’arrive de « broyer » aussi des couleurs pour la journée. Liants utilisés : Huile de lin cuite, huile de noix cuite au litharge, vernis à peindre, huile de lin crue, essence d’aspic… Pour en savoir plus sur le pigment outremer: « Outremer : broyage et formulation » de Thierry Moutard-Martin.

Les pigments :
Vermeer a utilisé différents pigments au cours de sa carrière. J’utilise des pigments proche de la tonalité de l’époque à travers les pigments d’aujourd’hui comme le blanc de céruse, le jaune indien, le vermillon, la laque de garance, le vert de gris, l’ocre jaune, l’ocre rouge, jaune citron, l’indigo, rouge cinabre, bleu outremer (synthèse), véritable lapis lazuli (Outremer véritable) provenant du chili ou d’Afghanistan.

Préparation de la toile :
Consulter « La technique de la peinture à l’huile » de Xavier de Langlais pour la préparation à la colle de peau aux éditions Flammarion.
Contacts :Téléphone : +33 (0)6 35 45 48 24
Mail : mickael.leroy@copy-vermeer.com
Formulaire de contact
Livre d'Or